News and Events

The Ozark Visitor

Events and Activities Calendar

News from Hard Work U.®

Valorie Coleman
Public Relations Director
College of the Ozarks
Point Lookout, MO 65726
Office: (417) 690-2212

May 07, 2020

College of the Ozarks radio station wins First Place Awards from Missouri Broadcasters Association

Melissa Akers, junior, psychology criminal justice majorMelissa Akers, junior, psychology criminal justice major

Melissa Akers, junior, Psychology Criminal JusticeAnna-Sophia Henry, 2020 graduate, biology and chemistry major

POINT LOOKOUT, MO. — Students in the College of the Ozarks radio station, KCOZ, won two first place awards from the Missouri Broadcasters Association for 2020. These awards honor the best in radio and television broadcasting for the entire state of Missouri. 

This year’s awards were in the following categories:

First Place in Public Service Announcement or Campaign (Small Market Radio) for “A Minute with Mel,” which is written, produced, and hosted by sophomore Melissa Akers. This was her first semester working at KCOZ. This award is presented to stations best demonstrating response to needs or issues in their communities and must be developed and produced by station personnel. “A Minute with Mel” is a series of 60-second public service announcements that air every weekday morning with the purpose of encouraging and motivating listeners to begin their day with an element of hope and positivity. 

First Place in Air Talent – Excluding Morning Drive (Small Market Radio) for Anna-Sophia Henry. Henry is a biology and chemistry major who recently finished her studies in December. This award recognizes the most outstanding on-air personality or team, outside of morning drive (5am – 10 am). Henry worked at KCOZ for five semesters, producing multiple shows, promotionals, psa’s, and much more. She is currently residing with her family in London, England.

“This year marked the greatest number of entries in Missouri Broadcasters Association Awards history, which means greater competition,” said Josh Williams, KCOZ station manager. “I have so much confidence in the quality of work that all of our students do. I fully expected to get some type of recognition, but I really didn’t expect two first place awards. It is a huge accomplishment, especially when you consider that their competition is made up of professionals, many of whom have been in broadcasting for several years. I couldn’t be more proud of my whole team.”

MBA has 29 categories and awards one first place and one Certificate of Merit for each category. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Annual MBA Awards Banquet has been canceled. A representative of MBA will deliver the awards in person this summer.

Visit for more information on the Missouri Broadcasters Association and the awards.


Return to top of page.
White rectangular Hard Work U logo
Hard Work U.®

© 2020 College of the Ozarks® 100 Opportunity Ave. Point Lookout, MO 65726

Main Number: 1.800.222.0525

Keeter Center Opens in a new window Ralph Foster Museum Opens in a new window Campus Store Opens in a new window Lab School (K-12) Opens in a new window Contact Campusweb Opens in a new window